A Court of Thorns and Roses Series Order

A Court of Thorns and Roses Series Order

The A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas has captured the hearts of millions of readers worldwide with its enchanting world-building, complex characters, and epic romance. If you’re new to the series or looking to refresh your memory, this article will walk you through the entire series, covering all the books, characters, and plot twists.

Book 1: A Court of Thorns and Roses (2015)

The first book in the series introduces us to Feyre Acheron, a 19-year-old huntress who lives in a world where humans and faeries coexist. When Feyre kills a wolf while hunting, she’s taken to the land of Prythian by a beastly faerie named Tamlin.

As she adapts to her new surroundings, Feyre discovers that Tamlin is not a beast all the time, but a faerie who’s been cursed by the evil King of Hybern.

Feyre’s feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility to a fiery passion, but their love is threatened by the ancient, wicked shadow growing in the faerie lands.

Book 2: A Court of Mist and Fury (2016)

In the second installment, Feyre has undergone more trials than one human woman can carry in her heart. She’s been granted the powers and lifespan of the High Fae, but is haunted by her time Under the Mountain and the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin and his people.

As her marriage to Tamlin approaches, Feyre’s hollowness and nightmares consume her. She finds herself split into two different people: one who upholds her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court, and one who lives out her life in the Spring Court with Tamlin.

While Feyre navigates a dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms. She might just be the key to stopping it, but only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future-and the future of a world in turmoil.

Book 3: A Court of Wings and Ruin (2017)

In the third book, Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s actions and learn what she can about the invading king threatening to bring her land to its knees. But to do so, she must play a dangerous game of deceit.

One slip could bring doom not only for Feyre, but for everything-and everyone-she holds dear. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre endeavors to take her place amongst the High Fae of the land, balancing her struggle to master her powers-both magical and political-and her love for her court and family.

Amidst these struggles, Feyre and Rhysand must decide whom to trust amongst the cunning and lethal High Lords, and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

Book 4: A Court of Frost and Starlight (2018)

In the fourth installment, Feyre, Rhysand, and their friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly altered world beyond, recovering from the war that changed everything. But Winter Solstice is finally approaching, and with it, the joy of a hard-earned reprieve. Yet even the festive atmosphere can’t keep the shadows of the past from looming.

As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, her concern for those dearest to her deepens. They have more wounds than she anticipated-scars that will have a far-reaching impact on the future of their court.

Book 5: A Court of Silver Flames (2021)

The fifth and final book in the series focuses on Nesta Archeron, Feyre’s sister, who has always been prickly-proud, swift to anger, and slow to forgive. And ever since being forced into the Cauldron and becoming High Fae against her will, she’s struggled to find a place for herself within the strange, deadly world she inhabits.

Worse, she can’t seem to move past the horrors of the war with Hybern and all she lost in it. The one person who ignites her temper more than any other is Cassian, the battle-scarred warrior whose position in Rhysand and Feyre’s Night Court keeps him constantly in Nesta’s orbit. But her temper isn’t the only thing Cassian ignites.

The fire between them is undeniable, and only burns hotter as they are forced into close quarters with each other. Meanwhile, the treacherous human queens who returned to the Continent during the last war have forged a dangerous new alliance, threatening the fragile peace that has settled over the realms.

And the key to halting them might very well rely on Cassian and Nesta facing their haunting pasts.


The A Court of Thorns and Roses series is a masterclass in world-building, character development, and epic romance. With its complex characters, intricate plot twists, and stunning world-building, this series has captured the hearts of millions of readers worldwide.

Whether you’re a new reader or a seasoned fan, this guide has provided a comprehensive overview of the series, covering all the books, characters, and plot twists.


What is the A Court of Thorns and Roses series about?

The series follows the story of Feyre Acheron, a human who is taken to the land of Prythian by a faerie named Tamlin, and her journey as she navigates the world of the faeries, falls in love, and battles against evil forces.

Who is the main character of the series?

The main character of the series is Feyre Acheron, a human who is the protagonist of the first three books.

Is the series a romance series?

Yes, the series is a young adult fantasy romance series, with a strong focus on the romantic relationships between the characters.

Can I read the series out of order?

While it’s possible to read the series out of order, it’s recommended to read the books in the order they were published to fully appreciate the character development and plot twists.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here