Ken Follett Books Series

ken follet books

The eagerly anticipated follow-up to “A Column of Fire,” titled “The Armor of Light,” signals a fresh start for the town of Kingsbridge, England. Here, modern advancements are at odds with old ways, social conflicts seep into every layer of life, and war across Europe spreads far and wide.

Meanwhile, from France, the sound of war grows louder as Napoleon pursues his ambition to rule the globe. As old institutions fall in ways never seen before, our characters must navigate the changes that sweep through their lives, facing the task of rebuilding their world from the remnants of conflict.

More than three decades ago, Ken Follett released his most celebrated book, “The Pillars of the Earth.” Today, this thrilling new chapter in the Kingsbridge saga immerses us in the conflict between kindness and selfishness, love and animosity, innovation and tradition. Through the stories of each character, we gain fresh insights into the dramatic changes that rocked nineteenth-century Europe.

Ken Follett Books

Here are some Ken Follett books in order

A Column of Fire

“A Column of Fire” is a historical fiction novel written by Ken Follett. It was first published in 2017 and serves as the third book in the Kingsbridge Series, following the earlier novels “The Pillars of the Earth” (1989) and “World Without End” (2007). 

The story begins in 1558 and continues through 1605. It revolves around the romance between two characters: Ned Willard and Margery Fitzgerald. Alongside their love story, the novel delves into the political intrigues of the royal courts in England, France, and Scotland. 

During this period, Europe experienced intense conflict between supporters of the Protestant Reformation and those aligned with the Catholic Church’s Counter-Reformation.

The city of Kingsbridge plays a central role. It is ruled by an oligarchy of wealthy merchants who hold positions on the city council. 

World Without End

“World Without End” is a historical fiction novel by Ken Follett. It was published in 2007 and serves as the second book in the Kingsbridge Series, following the earlier novel “The Pillars of the Earth” (1989). Let me summarize the plot for you:

  • Characters: The novel features descendants of some characters from “The Pillars of the Earth,” set 157 years later. Among them are Merthin: A carpenter’s apprentice with a genius for construction.
  • Ralph: A squire under the Earl of Shiring.
  • Caris: A skilled healer and leader.
  • Gwenda: A peasant girl who becomes friends with Caris.
  • Historical Context:Hundred Years’ War: The novel explores the start of this long conflict between England and France.
  • Black Death: The devastating plague that swept through Europe, causing widespread death and upheaval.
  • Political and Religious Turmoil: As English society faces challenges, including the rise of a merchant class challenging authority, the characters grapple with power struggles and societal changes.
  • Events:The story begins with the children witnessing a secret letter being buried, leading to a lifelong bond among them.
  • Caris discovers her healing abilities while caring for victims of a bridge collapse.
  • Merthin becomes a bridge builder, Ralph gains power, and Gwenda’s life takes unexpected turns.

The Pillars of the Earth

“The Pillars of the Earth” is a historical novel written by Ken Follett and published in 1989. It is the first book in the Kingsbridge Series, followed by “World Without End” (2007) and “A Column of Fire” (2017). The novel is set in 12th-century England and revolves around the construction of a cathedral in the fictional town of Kingsbridge.

The story begins with the sinking of the White Ship in 1120 and ends with the murder of Thomas Becket in 1170. This period is marked by the Anarchy, a conflict over succession between Matilda (called Maud in the novel) and Stephen after the death of King Henry I.

Plot Summary:

  • Prior Philip, the leader of Kingsbridge, dreams of building a grand cathedral for his town. His ambition drives the narrative.
  • A master builder named Tom arrives, sharing Philip’s vision. Together, they start on the monumental task of constructing the cathedral.
  • The novel weaves together the lives of ordinary people, including:
  • Jack Shareburg, a minstrel who survives the White Ship disaster and becomes entangled in Kingsbridge’s affairs.
  • Ellen, Jack’s lover, who curses those who wronged him.
  • Aliena, is haunted by a secret shame and her marriage to Tom’s son, Alfred.

The Evening and the Morning

“The Evening and the Morning” is a historical based fiction novel by author Ken Follett. It serves as a prequel to his acclaimed book, “The Pillars of the Earth”, and is the fourth installment in the Kingsbridge series. Here is a summary:

  • Setting: The story begins in 997 AD and continues through the year 1007. It unfolds during the late Early Middle Ages and is set against the backdrop of Viking raids.
  • Plot Summary:The novel explores the history and founding of the fictional town of Kingsbridge, England.
  • Edgar, a young boat builder, experiences a life-altering event when Vikings attack his village. During the raid, Edgar’s father and the woman he loves, Sungifu, are killed. Edgar retaliates by taking the Viking’s life and leaves the village with his surviving family.
  • The book delves into themes of justice, mercy, and the challenges of leadership as Edgar becomes entangled in dangerous webs of political intrigue.
  • Other characters include Ragna, who marries an English ealdorman named Wilwulf (or Wilf), and Aldred, an ambitious monk striving to create a vast library in Shiring.
  • The title itself is a reference to Genesis 1:5 from the Bible.
  • A TV series adaptation based on the book is in development by Legendary Television and Range Media Partners.

Some Questions

Which Ken Follett Books are popular?

Ken Follett is best known for his Kingsbridge Series, which includes “The Pillars of the Earth”, “World Without End”, “A Column of Fire”, and “The Evening and the Morning”. His Century Trilogy is also highly acclaimed, featuring “Fall of Giants”, “Winter of the World”, and “Edge of Eternity.”

What genres does Ken Follett Books written in?

Follett writes in many different genres, including thrillers, spy novels, and historical fiction. His works often feature intricate plots, detailed character development, and a deep dive into historical events.

Read More:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here